Monday, September 20, 2010

Chakra Overview

When it comes to researching things on the internet, like chakras, you will find a lot of shit.  There is so much information out there.  I suppose that is true with anything.  I just spent the last half hour going googling chakras and most of it I wouldn't recommend.  Chakras are not new age nonsense, but I couldn't blame you if you believed that.
Chakras were written about in the Indian Vedas (an ancient set of doctrines consisting of mostly sacred hymns and rituals for a priest like class in India.)  Chakra is Sanskrit for wheel or disc.  Now that we are more advanced in medicine we now know that these chakras are located by the 7 major nerve ganglia along the spinal column.

I am very excited about this picture to the left.  I found it on a medical site, and it shows what those nerves are connected to.  I have a list I will share of what each chakra involves, as far as I know.

The chakras forms a column in our bodies called the sushumna.

Chakra locations
When I was first learning about the chakras I noticed that the physical and mental connections made a lot of sense.  People I knew where certain physical ailments had the corresponding mental affliction(s).  Eastern medicine (or what I know of it) to me is fascinating: Treating before the physical develops, maintaining energy balance (yin and yang.)  It can be very enlightening in understanding ourselves and others.

Chakra One starts at the base, and they work to the top.

This picture was taken from a site with more information than most people would need.  But it covers a lot of information for people who pretty much already know everything I've posted here.

The following is very limited information.  I intend to put up more information on each chakra at some point.  These are the basics I got off a paper from taking various sorts of classes and my Reiki certification from a wonderful woman I know.

  • is located at the base of spine/ perineum.
  • It's color is red, corresponding note is C.
  • Deals with grounding and physical identity.
  • Body parts are legs, feet, bones, with the adrenal gland, large intestine, blood and building of cells. 
  • Malfunctions include obesity, anorexia, sciatica and constipation.
  • is located bellow the navel and above the gentitals
  • It's color is orange, corresponding note is D.
  • Deals with sexuality and emotional identity.
  • Body parts are gonads, womb, genitals, kidney, bladder and lower back. 
  • Malfunctions include sexual and urinary problems.
  • is located by the solar plexus.
  • It's color is yellow, corresponding note is E (if you haven't already, you will start to notice a pattern here)
  • Deals with will power and self esteem
  • Body parts include pancreas, adrenals, digestive system, liver and gall bladder.
  • Malfunctions can be digestive problems, chronic fatigue and hypertension.
  • is located by the heart.
  • It's color is green, it's corresponding note is F.
  • Deals with feelings of unconditional love.
  • Body parts are thymus, heart, lungs, circulatory system, arms and harnds.
  • Malfunctions include asthma, coronary disease and lung disease.
  • is located in the throat..
  • It's color is blue, corresponding note is G.
  • Deals with communication.
  • Body parts include thyroid, parathyroid, throat, ears and mouth, neck and shoulders.
  • Malfunctions yield sore throats, neck and shoulder pain, and thyroid trouble.
  • is located at the third eye.
  • It's color is indigo, corresponding note is A.
  • Deals with imagination, perception and intuition.
  • Body parts are pineal gland, eyes, base of skull and brow.
  • Malfunctions include vision problems, headaches and nightmares.
  • is located at the crown of your head.
  • It's color is violet and white.
  • Deals with spirituality.
  • Body parts include pituitary glands, the central nervous system, and the cerebral cortex.
  • Malfunction of this chakra are depression, alienation and confusion.

This really is just scratching the surface, but it's a basic overview.

1 comment: